My Other Passion…

Standard

Besides writing and cats and chemistry, gardening is my favorite thing to do when the weather warms. In the 21 years I’ve had a garden, I can say that I’ve never stopped learning, but one thing I know above all else is that you DO NOT try to control mother nature. Our garden is very wild and wooly. We’ve always been an IPM garden; we are registered as a wildlife habitat with NWF.org; and we do use mostly natives, except for the occasional specimen plants, some of which are pictured here. We have a lot of wildlife and that’s not always pleasant, especially when the raccoons tear up your container pond, annihilate nest boxes, and shit on your roof. Yes, they did all that over the weekend. It’s a struggle, but we persist. I should have bought stock in hot pepper sauce for the amount I use in the garden.

 

Leave a Reply

