We Have a Winner …

Standard

And I even managed to convert the husband to the new laundry soap. I found that the addition of the little bit of enzyme worked wonderfully. We’ll still use the Bronner’s Sal Suds to clean the shop towels because who wants to waste the good stuff on shop towels?

Here’s the final Recipe (Though I do think I will eventually make my own laundry soap bar by modifying my regular soap recipe to use only Coconut oil and a 1 or 2 % lye discount. My current formula is for skin, so it’s way superfatted.)

  1. 3 Cups Borax
  2. 3 Cups Washing Soda
  3. 1 grated bar of Zote Soap
  4. 3/4 Cup of Citric Acid
  5. 1/3 cup of Biokleen Premium Plus (with enzymes) Laundry Powder

Use 1/3 to 1/2 cup per load depending on the size of the load, and vinegar in the rinse. I’ve found that 1/2 cup works the best without over-sudsing. If you are leaving out the biokleen, then 1/2 cup is generally needed to get enough soap in the mix.

Done and Done and onto the new…

Experiment that is: Cat Litter box deodorizer. Now, I scoop 2 to 3 times a day, but you 71YS2fR8JhL._SL1024_know and I know, the stink still happens.

I used to buy Richard’s Organics because it worked and it’s unscented for Moon’s allergies, but it’s often hard to find locally, so I have to get it from Amazon, and for 25 ounces, it’s like $10.00 for Zeolite, baking soda, and enzymes. I’ve used Zeolite, during my fish keeping days. I am very familiar with it, so I went in search of a 100% zeolite product that I could add my own baking soda to in order to make an effective and safe odor control product at a fraction of the cost.

That’s when I found Ecotraction: 7.7 lbs for $12.00. It’s so safe even your kids and pets can accidentally eat it, and it’s good for the garden too, so between the walnut litter and this, my compost pile will love it.

I so hope it works. .25 cents per ounce (including the baking soda) is way cheaper than .40 cents an ounce for the Richard’s. Zeolite works like activated carbon only better, so I am hoping that it will work even without the enzymes. Nature’s Miracle has one that comes to .29 cents an ounce, and I found a Chicken Coop one by PDZ that’s even cheaper  and comes in a 10 lb. bag at 0.11 cents per ounce, so I’ll keep you posted.  If it doesn’t, I can use it in the flower beds for improving the soil. I try not to use things that don’t have a secondary application, just in case Plan A goes tits up. It happens. A lot.

Leave a Reply

