Trying a New (To Me) Cat Food

Standard
Trying a New (To Me) Cat Food

CaptureAll 3 people who read this blog know that Moon has allergies and issues with mineral load (he’s a stone mason) and carbs. They also know that we’ve spent years trying different foods for him. I think I’ve fed the raccoons and skunk and opossum more cat food than any human on this planet. Whatever the brand, I can tell you exactly why I won’t buy it or why he can’t eat it. It’s very frustrating.

Right now he eats Young Again Zero Carb Mature LID formula and Rayne Kangaroo Maintenance (wet), which isn’t perfect because it has way more potato than I appreciate, thus the carb load is very high for a wet food. That said, I’ve been, as I always have been, sourcing new foods.

I stumbled on Koha, and I am very impressed with the ingredients. It’s similar to Ziwipeak, Hound and Gatos, and even Instinct. It is made in the USA and has better protein choices for cats with sensitivities. It doesn’t contain the mineral clay and random bones that one will find in Natures Variety Instinct, and isn’t as dry as Ziwipeak or as pasty as Hound and Gatos, which no one would even get near.

Koha offers Venison, Duck, Kangaroo, and Guineafowl along with the standard chicken and turkey. They also have a LID line.

But the best best best thing about them is that they offer sample can purchases. Up to 4 cans at a time with a nominal shipping fee. That is a lifesaver, and shows me that the company has faith in their food. You don’t have to commit to an expensive case only to wind up donating it to the local wildlife because your cat won’t eat it.

This is the profile for the Venison stew:

Ingredients
Venison, Vegetable Broth, Water, Porcine Plasma, Dried Egg Product, Chickpeas, Fenugreek Seeds, Calcium Carbonate, Parsley, Dandelion Greens, Kale, Salt, Sodium Phosphate, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Pumpkin, Turmeric, Ginger, Cranberries, New Zealand Green Mussel, Zinc Proteinate, Iron Proteinate, Magnesium Proteinate, Niacin Supplement, Vitamin E Supplement, Copper Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Thiamine Mononitrate, Manganese Proteinate, Vitamin A Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Ethylenediamine Dihydroiodide, Folic Acid

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (min):
9%
Crude Fat (min):
7%
Crude Fiber (max):
1.50%
Moisture (max):
82.00%
Ash (max):
Crude 3.0%

Calorie Content
Kcal/5.5oz 146, Kcal/kg 938

I tried some of the LID pates to start since both the boys like Rayne’s Kangaroo, but sadly, something put them off and neither would touch it. May have had too much pumpkin since it was a pate.

I’m trying the stews now since they are the same texture as the Rayne, with gravy and chunks of meat. Let me tell you that this food is really meaty. I was afraid that there would be tons of chickpeas after seeing it on the ingredient list, but the carbs are so low that the little plant material that’s used must be infinitesimal. I think according to Catinfo.org’s food chart, the venison was something like 4% carbs, which ain’t too shabby. Venison is a good choice for cats with sensitivities. Jury is till out on the Egg product and the Green-lipped Mussel. We’ll see if Moon starts itching again. If that happens, well, at least the company was kind enough not to make me commit to a case because stores that carry it in my area are limited, and they don’t always have the flavor I need.

I’ll keep you posted as we try different flavors, though I do highly recommend the food since it’s one of the few that is carrageenan, gum, grain, and potato free and doesn’t contain a fuck ton of pea products instead.

Comments are closed.