Apparently, Kangaroo is Tasty

Standard

We are making strides with Moon’s allergies. His itching has subsided, and he hasn’t had faucet-eyes or sneezing in weeks. He still has bald patches, but I am hoping those will fill in over time. So aside from all the changes we did make related to indoor air quality and laundry, we are still trying out new food brands in order to reshuffle the protein rotation.

They love their dry food by Young Again, and in fact, YA is coming out with a hypoallergenic Zero Carb shortly. I will be switching to that when it arrives. I don’t think Moon has a problem with Chicken, but I really don’t want Chicken in every damned food he eats because that defeats the purpose of a rotational diet. I’ve always done this because rotational diets are natural, varied, and balanced. It helps mitigate allergy problems and helps stop the creation of picky eaters.

I’ve been watching and caring for feral cats for 15 years. I’ve seen what they eat firsthand. In the winter, it’s mostly mice, voles, and shrews. Birds do get eaten from time to time, but birds are not easy to catch. In the spring and summer, the diet gets more varied: snakes, frogs, baby rabbits, baby possum, and crickets get worked into the mix. I’ve seen Moon attempting to take down a 3 foot brown snake. I felt bad for the snake, so Moon didn’t get snake tartar that night.

A rotational diet is the most natural thing there is.

However, if you have a cat with allergies (sensitivities) then a rotational diet is easier said than done. Frustration level 11 for sure. Either there is something I find objectionable in the food, or they just find it objectionable on the plate. I’m not even that picky, just a few things:

  1. No Grain
  2. No Peas or Pea Protein (Cheap Filler) and Moon doesn’t like peas.
  3. No Carrageenan if I can help it. They like pate, so it’s difficult.
  4. No Beef, Lamb, Fish, or meat-by-products (Moon is allergic)
  5. I like to keep the Chicken to a minimum.
  6. I gotta watch the mineral levels and carbs because of Moon’s stone making issues.
  7. I need 3 to 3.5 oz cans. Anything more just gets wasted because they don’t like it after it’s been refrigerated.

I’ve got a rabbit they like, although it does have some chicken in it. I’ve got a Duck they like, even though it has carrageenan in it, and the dry food is hydrolyzed Pork. They are iffy on Turkey right now, and I would still like a non-poultry meat type, so I’ve been researching other sources and ran across a company called Rayne Clinical. They got a good write-up over at Truth About Pet Food, so I thought I’d look at their website and see what they were all about. They make what would be considered prescription diets, though they seem to use whole foods versus the fillers and crap ingredients most of the well-known prescription diet companies use. My Vet doesn’t carry them, but after fiddling around on their site, I found that I could buy from them direct.

1484253805002

I chose the Kangaroo Maintenance diet. It’s expensive, but I’ll be using it only for the weekend rotation days. According to the product sheet:

Features: • High palatability • High quality protein for lean body mass • Novel protein source1 • High digestibility • Added prebiotics   (fructooligosaccharides)

Therapeutic Indications: • Adverse Reactions to Food (dermatologic   and gastrointestinal) • Diabetes mellitus (or cats at risk for DM4.5)   with concurrent gastrointestinal disease    (or BCS 5/9 or less)
Therapeutic & Maintenance needs

INGREDIENTS (WET): Kangaroo, kangaroo broth, Kangaroo Liver,  Sweet potato, Potato starch, Sunflower oil, Tricalcium phosphate, Glycine, Guar gum, Dextrose,  vitamins and minerals (choline chloride, magnesium oxide, zinc amino acid complex, vitamin E supplement, iron amino acid complex, thiamine mononitrate, niacin, manganese amino acid complex, copper amino acid complex, vitamin A supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, d-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin, sodium selenite, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement, calcium iodate, vitamin D supplement, biotin) Fructo-oligosaccharide, Fish oil, Potassium chloride, sea salt.

I’m not fond of the sweet potato AND potato starch, which, according to their diet sheet puts it at 26.59 % Carbs (CHO-NFE#) on a dry matter basis. This is higher than I like, but I came to find out, you can pick some of the potato bits out if you want to, and since my guys only eat about 1.5 ounces of canned food a day, the carb count doesn’t make that much of a difference combined with their staple dry food which has <1% trace carbs.

Best part though is that it is quite savory and has a nice strong smell to it, so the boys went nuts over it. I think it might be a keeper for now.

They do make some dry diets for UT issues and Allergy issues, but the dry diets were around 35-36% carbs and that is just way too high for Moon, who is also carb sensitive, as in, they make him fat and crazy. If they could manage to cut their carb % down to under 10, then I would consider some of their dry diets as well.

 

Leave a Reply

