Middle of the Night Fighting

Standard

a1ceqiasgsl

So I woke up to screeching and snarling at 1:30 in the morning. I leapt out of bed thinking the worst and screaming, “Nooooooooo…” into the darkness as I ran down the hall, half asleep, into the living room.

Both boys were on the back of the sofa, calm, with the word “Whut?” all over both of their faces.

That’s when I realized that the fighting was happening outside.

It’s fall in my neck of the woods, and the woodland creatures are very active this time of year in their desperate search for food before they go down to sleep for most of the winter. They can get a bit ornery; so between the fox, skunk, raccoon, opossum, and the feral cats, fighting in the middle of the night is a common occurrence. I’ve broken up many in my day with my good ole trusty broom.

It can get dangerous out there, which is why Moon and Rupert are in the house and why both of them have no desire to go back outside, ever. Moon runs when you open the door. He wants no part of his past life anymore. Can’t say that I blame him.

I went back to bed relieved, but I did close the window because during the winter, my patio generally looks like this. They are well behaved when food is plentiful.

critters

Leave a Reply

