Random Cat Rehab Thought

Standard

b93732d09bb2be536119491355ec4f50Justification Note: I have to document these things I notice; otherwise, I will forget them.

Anyway, Moon wants to spend as much time in the room with Rupert as he can, and since we are door-open now during the day, the decision to do that is entirely up to him. He has not been aggressive towards Rupert, so I’m not as concerned as I was, even with the occasional swatting for no reason that still happens from time to time. That said, something interesting happened in the last day or so. When Moon first began hanging out in the room, he would do so sleeping up in one of the chairs. Moon in Chair. Rupert in cat bed on the floor.

I don’t know if Moon taking the higher spot was an attempted show of dominance or not. It could be that Moon’s just used to sleeping on the furniture and so it was more comfortable for him. Or not. I don’t know.

Monday, Moon slept in the other cat bed. On the floor. On the other side of the room from Rupert. On the same level.

He did this again yesterday and today.

Since I am not a cat behaviorist, I don’t know what’s going on here, but it seems positive to me. Best guess from someone who hasn’t a clue: I think Moon is beginning to accept Rupert as a non-threatening equal and a permanent part of our little colony.

I hope that’s the case. Either way, they both seem OK with the situation. That’s good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

