Feral Redux – Rupert, Day 22, Week 4

Standard

Apparently Rupert finds the x-Files rather boring.

I’ve been spending more and more time in the room with Rupert as we try to condition him not to be afraid of close proximity and the house noises. I’ve been reading aloud to him, though I am not sure he likes novellas. I do though, since I write them, and I’m currently reading this: Fear by Stefan Zweig. It’s about internal conflict and anxiety, specifically the sort often created by an affair. It’s intensely internal, and novellas are a really good form for this sort of thing. My own novella The Thin Wall is of similar circumstance and subject matter. 41S7gPkNU5L__SX365_BO1,204,203,200_

It’s not really important that Rupert is still hiding under the chair since we are still in the early stages. Reconditioning takes a lot of time, so what I am looking for right now is relaxation, while I am close to him, while there are pots banging and laundry machines chugging along to the background din of vacuum cleaners and all sort of music and other ruckus.

Last night I decided to begin the TV therapy. I remember well that the television freaked Moon out for a long time. He didn’t know where the voices were coming from, and every time a doorbell rang on the TV, he would dash under the bed thinking that it was ours and that we were being invaded by other dreaded humans. After 3 years, he can sleep through anything now except the vacuum and real doorbell. I hate both of those things as well, so I can’t say that I blame him.

x-files-return-logoSo anyway, I decided to start with low volume. I think I had the stereo receiver on 6, and I also needed to watch something I had seen before so it wouldn’t matter really if I could hear it or not. The x-Files is currently streaming on Netflix, and being a huge ridiculous idiot x-Files fan, I thought I would watch the entire series starting at the beginning for one hour a night.

About half way through the first episode, Rupert was face down in the blanket, snoring. And dreaming. His tail was flipping wildly back and forth. It’s probably been a long time since he was able to sleep that safely and deeply, and that made me smile more than the silliness of Mulder and Skully.

Leave a Reply

